ANU – The Australian National University

The federal capital of Canberra is home to the Australian National University, the country’s foremost research university that ranks among the world leaders.

In March 2017, the ANU and PSL signed a Memorandum of Strategic Engagement in Canberra in the presence of France's Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development, Jean-Marc Ayrault, with the aim of strengthening scientific cooperation and interaction between the two institutions. The agreement is part of the Enhanced Strategic Partnership between the governments of France and Australia, designed to develop a common action plan for science and technology and involving some of the newly created IDEX (Initiative d’Excellence) universities in France and Australia's main research universities.
PSL and ANU see potential for collaboration in a number of fields, including astrophysics, mathematics, physics, the environment, the arts and social sciences.

"Higher education and research are at the heart of this new partnership, and the agreement between ANU and PSL illustrates the role that leading universities have to play in an increasingly globalized world. Our two institutions are already working on a range of collaborations in law and society, and are developing new technologies to help with space exploration. Our action plan is also focused on industry, as for example in our partnership with Airbus on the use of satellite imagery and  cutting-edge technology". Prof. Brian Schmidt, Vice-Chancellor of ANU, Nobel Prize in Physics (2011).

“The agreement between PSL and ANU is a perfect illustration of the opportunities created by recent changes in France’s higher education and research landscape to promote international collaboration. Forming groups of French universities provides the critical mass we need to enter into large-scale partnerships enabling global scientific cooperation at the highest levels.” Thierry Coulhon, former President of PSL