Steering Committee

A scientific steering committee oversees the Chair’s strategic direction. The committee meets annu-ally as a jury to award the dissertation prize, and as needed to review applications for awarding the doctoral and postdoctoral fellowships.


The steering committee was chaired by Anne-Marie Turcan-Verkerk until December 2019.
Clélia Zernik, Professor of Esthetics at the Beaux-Arts de Paris, takes up her mandate as President of the Steering Committee of the Beauty Chair(s) on 4 December 2019.

Members of the Steering Committee

Kaouther Adimi, author. Program supervisor for the L’Oréal Foundation.

Rémi Carminati, Professor of physics, ESPCI-PSL, Institut Langevin.

Claudine Cohen, Research Director at EHESS and EPHE-PSL, historian and philosopher of science, paleoanthropologist.

François Jouen, Research Director, EPHE-PSL, Department of Life and Earth Sciences.

Alexandra Palt, Executive Vice-President Chief Corporate Responsibility Officer at L'Oréal, and Executive Vice-President of the L’Oréal Foundation.

Anne-Marie Turcan-Verkerk, Research Director, EPHE-PSL, Department of Historical and Philo-logical Sciences. Vice Dean of Research.

Frédéric Worms, Professor of contemporary philosophy, ENS-PSL. Deputy Director in Literature and the Humanities.

Scientific Coordination

Justin Jaricot
contact : justin.jaricot[at]


The steering committee may call on outside experts for assistance when required.

Scientific Committee

The scientific committee is involved in the animation of the chair, and feeds the research axes of the Chair through collective thinking.

It also contributes to the dissemination of the Chair's various calls for projects, and may occasionally take part in the selection of applications alongside the steering committee.

Members of the Scientific Committee

Frédérique Aït-Touati, CNRS [literature and history of sciences] ;

Emmanuel Alloa, Université de Fribourg [philosophy] ;

Samuel Bianchini, ENSAD [arts and arts sciences] ;

Antoine De Baecque, ENS - PSL [art history] ;

Camille Froidevaux-Metterie, Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne, [philosophy, feminist studies] ;

Christophe Godin, INRIA [mathematics, computer sciences] ;

Armand Hatchuel, Mines Paris - PSL, [engineering] ;

Anne Lafont, CNRS [art history] ;

Déborah Laks, CNRS [art history] ;

Pascal Le Masson, Mines Paris - PSL, [engineering] ;

Carole Maigné, Université de Lausanne, [philosophy] ;

Kei Osawa, University of Tokyo, Intermédiathèque, [aesthetics, curator]

François René-Martin, Beaux-Arts de Paris, [art history & political sciences] ;

Patricia Ribault, Beaux-Arts de Paris, [art history] ;

Benoit Roman, ESPCI - PSL, [physics] ;

Claudine Sagaert, Université de Toulon, [sociology]

Anne Simon, CNRS [literature] ;

Silvia Vignolini, University of Cambridge, [physics] ;

Gilles Wallez, École nationale supérieure de Chimie de Paris - PSL, [chemistry] ;

Anne-Lise Worms, Université de Rouen, [greek literature and language].