Strategic Steering Committee

The Board of Directors appoints a Strategic Steering Committee (SSC) comprised of 12 distinguished scholars, French and international, chosen for their world-renowned expertise in the areas of science, the humanities, the arts, design, research transformation and knowledge dissemination. The SSC assesses PSL’s initiatives as a whole and steers PSL policy. It meets once annually.


  • Luigi Ambrosio : Mathematics; Dirretore di la Scuola normale di Pisa
  • Jo Beall : Economy; « Distinguished Research Fellow », London School of Economics
  • Willy Benz :  Astrophysics; Professor of astrophysics, University of Bern.
  • Paula Crabtree : Arts; Vice-Chancellor, Stockholm University of the Arts
  • Ghislaine Filliatreau : Senior researcher, representative of the scientific integrity office, INSERM
  • Dame Julia Higgins : Physics; Professor, Imperial College London; President, Institute of Physics, UK
  • Hans Joas : Sociology of Religion; Professor, Humboldt University of Berlin
  • Cristina Mantegna : Palaeography and Diplomatics; Professora Associata, University of Rome “La Sapienza”
  • Low teck Seng : Engineering; CEO, National Research Foundation Singapore
  • Anja Desiree Senz : Sinologist, Vice-Rector for Student Affairs and Teaching, Heidelberg University
  • Martin Vetterli : Engineering, President, EPFL
  • Mickael Worton : Arts, Emeritus Professor & former Vice Provost, University College London