University of Chicago

PSL established a cooperation agreement with the University of Chicago (UChicago) in 2019 to facilitate academic, scientific and cultural exchanges between the two universities and strengthen ties with the UChicago Center in Paris.

This new agreement is based on a long tradition of collaboration between several members of PSL (Collège de France and ENS-PSL in particular) and UChicago. The agreement thus strengthens pre-existing initiatives between PSL and UChicago institutions while allowing for the development of new joint research and training projects.

PSL and UChicago are also working to develop student mobility and faculty/researcher exchange programs.

In particular, the cooperation between PSL and UChicago aims to promote the "Dual Ph.D. Degree Initiative" between the University of Chicago and France, an initiative that allows students to pursue their Ph.D. at the University of Chicago and at a higher education institution in France.

As part of this agreement, PSL also becomes a privileged partner of the France Chicago Center (FCC), an initiative of excellence launched in 2001 between UChicago and the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and more specifically of the France And Chicago Collaborating in The Sciences (FACCTS) program supporting joint research projects between France and UChicago in the fields of Physics, Biology, and Engineering.

UChicago is also expanding its Center in Paris, which already hosts its students up to the PhD level and its professors. By 2022, the new UChicago Center in Paris will provide a base for UChicago's collaborations in Europe, Africa and the Middle East. PSL will be a privileged partner of the Paris Center for the organization of student and faculty exchanges and joint events.

About the University of Chicago

Founded in 1890, the University of Chicago (UChicago) is a private university considered one of the most prestigious and influential in the world. In particular, it is recognized worldwide in the field of economics. It has 92 Nobel Prizes laureates and 9 Fields Medals laureates and is regularly ranked in the Top 10 of the world's best universities.

It has 17,000 students and 2,400 professors. It is organized into 5 divisions and 6 graduate schools, and coordinates two National Laboratories of the Department of Energy (Argonne National Laboratory and Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory).